## SOUND MIXING FACTS MOST NOMINATIONS AND AWARDS

[NOTE: From the 1929/30 Awards through the 1968 Awards, the award was given to the studio sound department and not to any individual(s). Beginning with the 1969 Awards, the award was given to the person(s) who actually recorded the sound.]

[Updated thru 88th Awards (2/16)]

## **Studio Sound Departments**

[Applies only to the 1929/30 (3rd) – 1968 (41st) Academy Awards; see note above]

## MOST NOMINATIONS ([#] indicates number of awards) 17 Columbia Studio (John Livadary) [3] 16 Samuel Goldwyn Studio (Gordon Sawyer) [3] Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio (Douglas Shearer) [5] 15 Warner Bros. Studio (Nathan Levinson) [1] 15 12 Paramount Studio (Loren L. Ryder) [0] 10 20th Century-Fox Studio (E. H. Hansen) [1] MOST AWARDS ([#] indicates number of nominations) Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio (Douglas Shearer) [15] 5 Todd-AO (Fred Hynes) [7] 3 Columbia Studio (John Livadary) [17] 3 Samuel Goldwyn Studio (Gordon Sawyer) [16] 3 Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer Studio (Franklin E. Milton) [6] 3 20th Century-Fox Studio (Thomas T. Moulton) [5]

MOST NOMINATIONS ([#] indicates number of awards)

## Individuals

[Applies only to the 1969 (42nd) – 2015 (88th) Academy Awards; see note above]

20	Andy Nelson [2]	11	Richard Portman [1]
20	Kevin O'Connell [0]	11	Randy Thom [1]
16	Greg P. Russell [0]	10	Anna Behlmer [0]
14	Donald O. Mitchell [1]	10	Robert Knudson [3]
12	Les Fresholtz [2]	10	Michael Semanick [2]
11	Rick Kline [0]	10	Gary Summers [4]
11	Michael Minkler [3]		
	Γ AWARDS ([#] indicates number of nominations)		
4	Bob Beemer [7]	3	
•			Gragg Landakar [8]
4		-	Gregg Landaker [8]
т	Mark Berger [4]	3	Gregg Landaker [8] David MacMillan [3]
4		-	
-	Mark Berger [4]	3	David MacMillan [3]
4	Mark Berger [4] Scott Millan [9]	3	David MacMillan [3] Steve Maslow [7]
4	Mark Berger [4] Scott Millan [9] Gary Rydstrom [9]	3 3 3	David MacMillan [3] Steve Maslow [7] Michael Minkler [11]